What if the private sector acted in the same manner as our government?  Could you imagine a board room where the meeting participants with one opinion sat on one side of the room and the people with another opinion sat on the other side of the room and the two sides made little if any effort to work together for the good of the company?  Now let’s say that the company had not turned a profit in 11 years and was in debt to the tune of about $55 trillion?  Would you invest in that company?  Guess what… you already do! 

I’m not going to get political here.  If you want a political blog, I’m sure you can find one with ease.  In fact, I’m being anti-political.  I think it’s time the American people stop being political and start being practical.  We can start with our elected officials.  The problem with politics today is not a product of the Republicans, the Democrats, the Libertarians, the Tea Party, the Whips, Team Jacob, or Team Edward.  The problem with politics is politics!

We have career politicians who have spent most of their lives in a fantasy land of “public service” where they have never experienced the repercussions of the very laws they conceive and vote on.  I say get them out, establish term limits for Congress, and fill the vacant seats with people who understand what it’s like to be unemployed, taxed to the brink of bankruptcy, accountable for their decisions, and frustrated with political rhetoric.  Of course that will never happen because Congress would have to vote on giving themselves term limits, but I think it would be one of the best things to happen to US politics since we signed that piece of paper back in 1776.

The primaries will be heating up soon and the propaganda machines of both parties will really get cranked up with the presidential election next year.  I just wish the parties would put as much effort into responsibly governing the American people as they do into trying to win elections and make the other person look bad.

During the last election, there was much discussion about how important that election was and the need for unifying the parties.  Well, the chasm between the parties has only grown deeper and wider, the economy is on shaky ground, and people are even more frustrated than they were three years ago.  Some blame the President, some blame the Tea Party, some blame El Nino, but I put the blame squarely on the political system.  We’re getting further away from the ideals of our founding fathers and there is no indication that we will change direction soon.  I have disagreements with people at work.  I disagree with people in my church.  I disagree with people in my family.  I even disagree with myself sometimes.  But we make it work – those disagreements do not lead to stalemates of ideology.  We have to find common ground.  We sometimes even have to compromise for the greater good.  I know those aren’t always the best tactics for maintaining constituents, but leadership is not a popularity contest.

